Databases A-Z

Resources beginning with: A

AccessMedicine 
AccessMedicine® is an online reference and practice resource providing access to more than 85 medical titles, thousands of images, integrated drug database, diagnostic tools, multimedia, patient education, and more, all on a comprehensive search platform and accessible on a mobile device. Go to resource page
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy 
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy provides anatomy images and models based on dissections. Available online to authorized COM/HMC users only. Go to resource page
AMA Manual of Style 
The online editorial manual for the scientific journals published by the American Medical Association. Includes chapters on medical nomenclature, manuscript preparation, visual display of data, and formatting for references and citations including more than 50 examples of references to electronic resources. There is also a lengthy chapter on ethical and legal considerations such as copyright and trademark, patient privacy issues, policies on group authorship, author relations with the news media, and much more. Go to resource page
American Chemical Society Publications 
Provides full text access to American Chemical Society publications. We are not able to access C&EN Online here, but do get it from 1998 - present as Chemical & Engineering News/ACS Single Titles Subscriptions. Go to resource page
Anatomy.TV 
Provides 3D human anatomy and multimedia interactive content allowing the user to rotate any anatomical view 360 degrees, add/remove layers of anatomy and label any visible structure. Go to resource page
Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials [RFH] 
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 488,000 article citations from more than 1,500 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 215,000 essay citations from over 15,700 multi-author works, and more than 446,000 book review citations. This database begins in 1949 although indexing for some journal titles extends back into the nineteenth century. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. App information Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: B

Biological Abstracts 
Biological Abstracts is the premier database for the biological sciences. BA monitors more than 5,000 international journals to ensure that virtually every life science topic is covered, including agriculture, biochemistry, biology, botany, molecular biology, biotechnology, physiology, microbiology, neurology, pharmacology, public health, toxicology, zoology, and ecology and the environment. Coverage is from 1926 to date. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: C

CAB Abstracts (agriculture, nutrition and global health) 
CAB Abstracts via CAB Direct covers all areas of agriculture including animal production and welfare (equine, dairy, cattle, poultry), horticulture, (fruits, nuts, vegetables ornamentals, flowers) crop science (grains, forages) and plant protection, applied economics and rural studies, animal nutrition, entomology, aquaculture and veterinary science, food science and nutrition, forestry and the management and conservation of natural resources, leisure and tourism, microbiology, parasitology, mycology, nematology, bacteriology and virology, biotechnology, and plant pathology and postharvest factors. CAB Direct also includes a Global Health section which covers international and public health, including bacterial, viral and prion diseases, mycology, parasitology, disease vectors, zoonotic diseases, nutrition and food safety, medicinal plants, toxicology and public and rural health. Go to resource page
CANNabinoid Drug Interaction Review (CANN-DIR) (R) 

CANNabinoid Drug Interaction Review (CANN-DIR)(R) is intended to evaluate for potential Drug-Drug interactions based on the Cannabinoids (THC & CBD) affecting the Metabolism of OTHER concomitantly prescribed medications.

Go to resource page
CAS Source Index (CASSI) Search Tool 
The CAS Source Index (CASSI) is a cross-index to journal abbreviations and titles used in chemistry and many related sciences. It is searchable by journal title, abbreviated title, CODEN, ISSN, and ISBN. Go to resource page
CINAHL (Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health) 
One of two major databases for nursing, providing references to over 1,800 nursing and allied health journal articles in addition to citations for book chapters, nursing dissertations, association publications, educational software, conference proceedings and selected full-text for state nursing journal articles, legal cases, patient education material, research instruments, standards of practice, critical paths, nurse practice acts, drugs, clinical innovations and government publications. References for alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and health sciences librarianship are also included. Coverage: 1982 - Present. Updates: Monthly. App information Go to resource page
ClinicalKey (PSU_HMC_Only) 
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier's medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 700 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Go to resource page
ClinicalTrials.gov 
Provides information about federally and privately supported clinical research in human volunteers. Go to resource page
Cochrane Library 
Cochrane Library is composed of the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the leading resource for systematic reviews in health care. It includes peer reviewed systematic reviews and protocols prepared according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews and editorials and supplements. The resource is updated often, with reviews and protocols being published when ready. Cochrane Library also includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and published monthly. The Cochrane Library offers Cochrane Clinical Answers, which provide a clinically-focused entry point to research from Cochrane Reviews. Also included are special collections of evidence-based guides related to diagnosing common medical conditions. The federated search feature allows Cochrane Library users to search systematic reviews from McMaster Health Forum's repositories: Health Systems Evidence and Social Systems Evidence. Go to resource page
Consumer Health (Medline Plus) 
MedlinePlus brings together authoritative information on over 700 diseases and conditions from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, a medical dictionary, interactive patient tutorials, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials. Pre-formulated MEDLINE searches are included in MedlinePlus and give easy access to medical journal articles. MedlinePlus is updated daily. This resource is designed for educational use only and not intended to replace advice from a health professional. Learn more about MedlinePlus at https://medlineplus.gov/aboutmedlineplus.html Go to resource page
Consumer Product Information Database 
This database links over 8,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) provided by manufacturers and allows scientists and consumers to research products based on chemical ingredients. Please read the About the Database for further disclaimers. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: D

DynaMed 
DynaMed is a clinical reference for use at the point-of-care. Contains clinically-organized summaries with recommendations, levels of evidence, and the guidelines behind each recommendation. CMEs available. App Information. Go to resource page
Dynamic Health 
Dynamic Health is an evidence-based tool designed to help nurses and allied health professionals master skills, obtain fast answers to questions and foster a culture of evidence-based practice and critical thinking leading to improved patient outcomes. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: e

e-Anatomy 
e-Anatomy is an interactive human anatomy database designed for physicians, radiologists, and medical students. It includes over 40 different modules that feature thousands of images of the human body. Available online to authorized COM/HMC users only. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: E

Ebsco E-Books 
EBSCO eBooks are online versions of print books from major academic publishers in virtually all academic disciplines. Go to resource page
Education in Video I & II (United States) 
Education in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. It includes teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms. Go to resource page
ERIC (ProQuest) 
ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) is the major database for education literature, sponsored by the U.S. Department. of Education. The same database content is available on many platforms. Go to resource page
Essential Evidence Plus 
Essential Evidence Plus is an evidence-based,point-of-care clinical decision support system that gives you access to over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries. It also includes diagnostic test calculators, EBM guidelines, Derm Expert Image System, NGC Practice Guidelines, drug safety alerts, anatomy illustrations, ICD-9 Codes,and free CMEs. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: F

FreeBooks4Doctors 
FreeBooks4Doctors provides access to a number of medical texts, including Anatomy of the Human Body. Go to resource page
Funding Institutional 
Funding Institutional (Elsevier) contains over 18,000 active funding opportunities with information on over 7 million awarded research grants from a wide-range of funders. Users can learn more about funders, track opportunities and set up customized alerts. Access using PSU login credentials and personal Elsevier account login. First time users may need to be on a PSU campus IP or VPN. Personal Elsevier accounts can be created in and used across Funding Institutional, Scopus, SciVal and Science Direct. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: H

Health & Psychosocial Instruments - HAPI 
Health and Psychosocial Instruments features material on unpublished information-gathering tools for clinicians that are discussed in journal articles, such as questionnaires, interview schedules, tests, checklists, rating and other scales, coding schemes, and projective techniques. The majority of tools are in medical and nursing areas such pain measurement, quality of life assessment, and drug efficacy evaluation. However, HaPI also includes tests used in medically related disciplines such as psychology, social work, occupational therapy, physical therapy, and speech & hearing therapy. App information For more information on the HaPI database, please click here. Go to resource page
Health and Safety Science Abstracts 
This database provides a comprehensive, timely survey of recent work relating to public health, safety, and industrial hygiene. Coverage: 1981-date. Major subject areas included: Occupational Safety and Health Transportation; Environmental and Ecology; Food and Drugs; Pesticides; Natural Disasters; Civil Defense and Emergency Management; Fire Safety; Radiation Safety and Electrical Safety; Consumer and Recreation Safety; Ergonomics and Human Factors Diseases; Injuries and Trauma; Epidemiology and Public Health; Medical Safety; Toxicology; Civil and Structural Engineering. Go to resource page
Health and Society in Video 
Health and Society in Video defines and explores today’s latest medical progress in health and wellness issues and their impact on society-- with hundreds of premium documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews. Go to resource page
HealthSTAR( Ovid ) 
Comprised of data from the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) MEDLINE and former HealthSTAR databases. As such, it contains citations to the published literature on health services, technology, administration, and research. As announced in October 2000, Ovid is offering Ovid Healthstar as a continuation of the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) now-defunct HealthSTAR database. Ovid Healthstar retains all existing backfile HealthSTAR citations and is updated with new journal citations culled from MEDLINE using the NLM's HealthSTAR search strategy. Information in Ovid Healthstar is derived from MEDLINE, the Hospital Literature Index, and selected journals. Access is through Ovid. Requires Harrell ePass Account. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: I

IBM Micromedex 
Contains fulltext information from AltMedDexTM System, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, TOMES and REPRORISK Systems, POISINDEX Managements, MARTINDALE, PDR, MSDS from United States Pharmacopeia, and other databases. Available online to authorized COM/HMC users only. App Information Go to resource page
ICE (International Clinical Educators) Learning Center 
The ICE Video Library provides excellent visual resources to both faculty and students in physical and occupational therapy curriculum all videos are filmed with actual patients and therapists in real-life treatment settings including acute care, skilled nursing, outpatient, home health and ICU. Diagnoses include, musculoskeletal, nervous system, mental & behavioral disorders, respiratory, and pediatrics. Go to resource page
IEEE Xplore 
IEEE Xplore contains the full text of all IEEE & IET conference papers, and standards published since 1988 and all IEEE journals since 1884 & IET journals since 1988. The material can be accessed through a searchable database or by browsing. 100 concurrent users. Inactive users timeout after 15 minutes. NOTE: We do not have access to the following IEEE content: IEEE Draft Standards, IEEE eLearning Library and IEEE English for Engineering. Additionally, we do not have access to various 3rd party content hosted by IEEE. Go to resource page
Images from the History of Medicine 
Images from the History of Medicine (IHM) provides access to images in the collections of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S National Library of Medicine (NLM). Go to resource page
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, 1880-1961 
IndexCat is the online Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office, (Index-Catalogue), printed from 1880 - 1961 in five (5) series consisting of sixty-one (61) volumes. The Index-Catalogue was initiated by John Shaw Billings who was the principal indexer for Series I.1 Billings expanded the Library of the Surgeon-General's Office into a major medical and scientific collection and created Index Medicus as well as the Index-Catalogue - each a cornerstone for the foundation of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Go to resource page
IngentaConnect 
ingentaconnect.com is a comprehensive multi-disciplinary document delivery service providing access to thousands of online journals from leading scholarly, academic and business publishers. Go to resource page
Institute of Physics Journals (IOP) 
Search electronic journal articles from the Institute of Physics. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: J

JAMAevidence: CCL Education Guides 
JAMAevidence leverages the content of the Users' Guides to the Medical Literature, 2nd ed., and The Rational Clinical Examination electronic books with added tools that map key evidence-based medicine topics for use in educational settings. Includes media-rich features such as calculators, and question wizards. Allows downloadable and customizable PowerPoint slides for teaching and learning and includes live links to subscribed full-text AMA journal resources. App information: From a nonmobile computer, under the red "My JAMAevidence" box, create a personal profile. Use that username and password to log in to the mobile version at http://m.jamaevidence.com. More Information. Go to resource page
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database 
Provides the evidence-based resources to inform clinical decision-making at the point of care. The Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI) is the international not-for-profit, research and development arm of the School of Translational Science based within the Faculty of Health Sciences at the University of Adelaide, South Australia. The Institute collaborates internationally with over 70 entities across the world. The Institute and its collaborating entities promote and support the synthesis, transfer and utilization of evidence through identifying feasible, appropriate, meaningful and effective healthcare practices to assist in the improvement of healthcare outcomes globally. Go to resource page
Journal Citation Reports 
Journal performance metrics offer a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals by delivering quantifiable statistical information based on citation data, which helps determine a publication's impact and influence in the global research community. It includes journal and category data. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: L

Lexicomp 
One search allows you to review the formulary status and availability of any drug, as well as links to Lexicomp Patient Education materials and calculators. Available on campus only to authorized COM/HMC users only. App Information Go to resource page
LWW Health Library - Medical Education Collection 
LWW Health Library provides electronic textbooks as well as rich multimedia ancillary content comprised of procedural videos, images, real-life case studies and quiz banks specifically tailored for the specialty. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: M

Medical Letter Databases 
The Medical Letter databases include The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics, Treatment Guidelines, The Medical Letter Adverse Drug Interactions Program, The Electronic Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, and a platform to obtain up to 50 CME/CE credits for physicians, PA's, pharmacists, and ARNP's. Go to resource page
Medline (via Ovid) 
MEDLINE is the premier source for bibliographic and abstract coverage of biomedical literature. MEDLINE is also available via PubMed. Ovid provides a search interface for MEDLINE that is optimized for more complex literature reviews and is often recommended for evidence syntheses searching. Go to resource page
Medline Plus Anatomy Videos 
Provided by the National Library of Medicine, these animated videos show the anatomy of body parts and organ systems. Surgical procedure videos are also available under 'Cool Tools.' Go to resource page
MedOne Plastic Surgery 
Comprehensive access to Thieme’s complete portfolio in aesthetic and reconstructive plastic surgery Go to resource page
MIT CogNet 
MIT CogNet, the Cognitive and Brain Sciences Community Online, provides access to a searchable, full-text library of books, journals, and reference works from the MIT Press, as well as content and links to resources from other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals. Additional features are conference materials, a directory of cognitive science programs, threaded discussion groups, job listings and other career information, and more. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: N

Natural Medicines 
The Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database provides the most comprehensive listing of brand name product ingredients available giving a summary of safety, effectiveness, drug interactions, and adverse effects. Other clinical tools include a drug interaction checker and an effectiveness checker. Over 1,100 profiles of natural ingredients are included as well as Canadian licensed natural health products and herbal fixed combination products. Go to resource page
Netter Reference 
Access to Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy eBook. Available online to authorized COM/HMC users only. Go to resource page
Nursing Education in Video Back File 
Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS. Go to resource page
Nursing Reference Center Plus 
Nursing Reference Center Plus is a evidence-based point-of-care resource specifically for nurses. Geared toward nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nursing faculty, Nursing Reference Center Plus provides access to nursing care plans, nurse management and leadership topics, regulator and risk management topics, nursing skills checklists, video demonstrations of nursing practices, patient education handouts, and continuing education credits. App Information. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: O

Opposing Viewpoints In Context: Health and Medicine 
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center provides research and background information on social issues. The database contains the essays from the Opposing Viewpoints series, supplemented by, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Go to resource page
Osmosis 
Osmosis is a study tool that contains videos, flashcards, study questions, and a study calendar to help medical and nursing students prepare for exams and board reviews. Go to resource page
Oxford Research Encyclopedias 
Comprehensive collections of in-depth, peer-reviewed summaries on an ever-growing range of topics. New approved articles and new summaries are added to the encyclopedia on an ongoing basis. Go to resource page
Oxford Scholarship Online 
Oxford Scholarship Online offers access to thousands of books from Oxford University Press, covering 20 subjects across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. OSO has particularly strong collections in philosophy, religion, history political science, law, and literature. It includes some titles from as far back as the 1970s, though a majority date from 2003 through present. It is updated monthly. Go to resource page
Oxford University Press Journals 
Provides access to full historical runs from 1791 to 1995 of over 330 journals published by Oxford University Press. Penn State also has access to the full current collection of Oxford University Press journals from 1996 - present. Texts are fully searchable. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: P

Penn State Electronic Theses and Dissertations 
Provides access to Penn State electronic theses and dissertations. Go to resource page
Penn State Pure 

Description: Pure (Elsevier) stores and allows retrieval of information on Penn State faculty investigators, research units and research output. Penn State Research Portal is the University’s implementation of Pure.  Research information is aggregated from internal and external sources. The Pure portal is fully accessible to the public, and enhances the visibility and discoverability of research at Penn State, both internally and externally.  College of Medicine faculty with questions or edits to their profiles can submit requests using our internal form.

Go to resource page
Plumb's Veterinary Drugs 
Created for today's busy veterinarians and pharmacists, Plumb's Veterinary Drugs is the online resource for accessing up-to-date veterinary drug information. App available. Go to resource page
PolicyMap 
PolicyMap (www.policymap.com) is an online mapping application created by The Reinvestment Fund and contains over 15,000 indicators related to housing, education, mortgage originations, jobs and more. It’s fast, efficient and captures data in visually powerful ways through custom maps, tables and reports. Go to resource page
Pollution Abstracts 
This database provides fast access to the environmental information necessary to resolve day-to-day problems, ensure ongoing compliance, and handle emergency situations more effectively. Pollution Abstracts combines information on scientific research and government policies in a single resource. Topics of growing concern are extensively covered from the standpoints of atmosphere, emissions, mathematical models, effects on people and animals, and environmental action in response to global pollution issues. To ensure comprehensive coverage, material from conference proceedings and hard-to-find documents has been summarized along with information from primary journals in the field. Go to resource page
ProQuest Nursing and Allied Health Journals 
A full text database subset of CINAHL, including only 300 full-text journals that are licensed to ProQuest. Coverage is typically from 1996, with a few titles prior to that date. Go to resource page
PsycArticles (via ProQuest) 
PsycARTICLES is a database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber. Go to resource page
PsychiatryOnline Premium Package 
The PsychiatryOnline Premium Collection is a web portal to a group of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing. The primary resources are the DSM-5™ and The American Journal of Psychiatry, as well as 16 different textbooks and these additional journals: Psychiatric Services, Academic Psychiatry, Journal of Neuropsychiatry & Clinical Neurosciences and Psychiatric News. The platform is completely searchable across all of the content and also offers access to CME credits, current APA Practice guidelines and medication information for patients. Go to resource page
PsycINFO (via ProQuest) 
PsycINFO provides access to international literature in psychology and related disciplines. Unrivaled in its depth of psychological coverage and respected worldwide for its high quality, the database is enriched with literature from an array of disciplines related to psychology such as psychiatry, education, business, medicine, nursing, pharmacology, law, linguistics, and social work. Nearly all records contain nonevaluative summaries, and all records from 1967 to the present are indexed using the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Go to resource page
PsycTESTS (formerly listed as APA PsycTests®) 
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration. Go to resource page
PTSDpubs (formerly PILOTS) 
The PTSDpubs database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. Its goal is to include citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events, without disciplinary, linguistic, or geographical limitations, and to offer both current and retrospective coverage. Go to resource page
PubChem 
PubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more. Go to resource page
PubMed Central 
PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH) free digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature. Go to resource page
PubMed MEDLINE 
PubMed is a web interface that allows you to search MEDLINE, the National Library of Medicine's premier database of citations and abstracts for biomedical research articles. The core subject is medicine, but subject coverage also includes bioethics, biology, chemistry, dentistry, environmental health, genetics, gerontology, health care planning and administration, history of medicine, hospital administration, microbiology, nutrition, nursing (International Nursing Index), physiology, pre-clinical sciences, public health, sports medicine, veterinary medicine and zoology. MEDLINE covers over 4,800 journals published in the United States and 70 other countries. The database contains over 15 million citations dating back to 1950. Coverage is worldwide and updated weekly. Learn more about PubMed at: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/about/. or Try the Tutorial at: http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/pubmed_tutorial/m1001.html Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: R

Reaxys 
Reaxys provides properties and reactions data for organic, inorganic, and organometallic chemicals. The database is searchable by chemical structures, reactions, specific properties, and literature references. Data are obtained from journal articles and chemical patents. Remote users must use the GlobalProtect VPN for access. VPN information for remote users. Go to resource page
REHABDATA 
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 70,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: S

SAGE Research Methods Core 
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE's renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more. SAGE Research Methods contains content from more than 640 books, dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks, the entire Little Green Book, and Little Blue Book series, two Major Works collating a selection of journal articles, and newly commissioned videos. Go to resource page
Science Citation Index 
Science Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the sciences. Go to resource page
ScienceDirect (Elsevier full text journal articles and electronic books) 
This system provides access to the electronic versions of the Elsevier journals and books that we subscribe to. Current issues and back files are included. Currently, it includes more than 1,200 journals. The full text collection contains over 1.5 million articles and book chapters from 1995 to present across all fields of science. Go to resource page
SciFinder-n 
SciFinder-n indexes the chemical literature as well as providing searchable information regarding specific chemical substances, reactions, structure and substructure searching, chemical supplier information, and a retrosynthesis planner. Remote users will need to install College of Medicine VPN (call 833-577-4357) or Penn State University's VPN software before accessing SciFinder-n. Users need a separate SciFinder-n login and password, which they can obtain using on-screen instructions. To register and follow the on-screen instructions. Go to resource page
SciVal 
SciVal (Elsevier) is a research benchmarking tool to visualize research performance, compare to institutional peers, develop strategic partnerships, identify and analyze new, emerging research trends, and create uniquely tailored reports. The system has research performance data of over 20,000 research institutions and their associated researchers from 230 nations worldwide. Access using PSU login credentials and personal Elsevier account login. First time users may need to be on a PSU campus IP or VPN. Personal Elsevier accounts can be created in and used across Funding Institutional, Scopus, SciVal and Science Direct. Go to resource page
Scopus 
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, including scientific journals, books and conference proceedings, covering research topics across scientific and technical disciplines, ranging from medicine and social sciences to arts and humanities. It includes citation data and tools that track, analyze and visualize research productivity and metrics. Go to resource page
Social Explorer 
Social Explorer provides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present. It allows you to easily create visual maps and reports for a variety of variables. Go to resource page
Social Sciences Citation Index 
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the social sciences. Go to resource page
Social Services Abstracts 
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage is from 1979 to date. Go to resource page
Sociological Abstracts 
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,700 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Records added after 1974 contain in-depth and nonevaluative abstracts of journal articles. Go to resource page
SPORTDiscus 
SPORTDiscus is the premier source of literature for sports and sports medicine journals, providing full-text content from many well-known and respected sources. Topics covered include coaching, exercise science, fitness, health education, kinesiology, nutrition, physical education, physical therapy, and sports sciences, as well as clinical specialties such as orthopedics. The database includes research, trade, and popular materials, from scholarly journals such as the American Journal of Health Promotion to magazines like Basketball Digest and Sports Illustrated. Most date from 2000 or later. More than 600 of the periodicals covered in SPORTDiscus are available as embedded full-text within SPORTDiscus; others may be found through GETIT or requested via ILLiad. App information Go to resource page
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video: Volume I 
Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video is the most extensive video collection ever assembled in the areas of fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, medical fitness, sport science, work-site wellness, exercise adherence, and much more. Developed through an exclusive partnership with Healthy Learning, the world’s leading producer of sports medicine videos, the collection features an array of internationally renowned physicians, exercise scientists, certified athletic trainers, physical therapists, registered dietitians, sport psychologists, personal trainers, and health/wellness experts who share information, ideas, and insights on the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise science and sports medicine. Go to resource page
Springer Nature Experiments 
Springer Nature Experiments is the world's largest database of laboratory research protocols, and comprises the popular monographic series Methods in Molecular Biology plus protocols gleaned from Methods in Molecular Medicine, Methods in Biotechnology, Methods in Pharmacology and Toxicology, and Neuromethods, as well as from a vast number of Laboratory Handbooks, such as The Biomethods Handbook, The Proteomics Handbook, and the Springer Laboratory Manuals. Researchers can browse the database by subject collection, search the database full-text, or follow a link to a protocol from other search engines like LionSearch or Google Scholar, or from a database such as PubMed or Web of Knowledge. Go to resource page
SpringerLink (full text journal articles and electronic books) 
Access to electronic editions of journals and electronic books to which Penn State University Libraries subscribes, published by a company called Springer-Verlag. Journals cover the fields of chemistry, computer science, economics, engineering, environmental sciences, geosciences, life sciences, mathematics, medicine, and physics. Coverage: 1996-present. Updates: Continuous Go to resource page
Stat!Ref 
STATRef is a cross-searchable medical information database for healthcare professionals, integrating core full-text biomedical and nursing books with evidence-based resources and innovative tools in one site. All StatRef titles have a 5 concurrent user limit. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: T

Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery 
Thieme MedOne Neurosurgery is a platform for residents and specialists. Available online to authorized COM/HMC users only. Create an account on network with Thieme and use that login/password when off campus. Go to resource page
Toxicology Abstracts 
Toxicology Abstracts covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and myriad other substances, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. Topics of current concern such as the effects of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse, hydrocarbon studies, nitrosamines, radiation and radioactive materials, and much more are extensively examined. Toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures for toxic substances are also covered. Coverage is from 1981 to date. Go to resource page
Trends & Policy: U.S. Healthcare 
"Trends & Policy: U.S. Healthcare is ... designed to facilitate the exploration of US government policies in context through the use of expertly crafted topic pages and timelines. In addition to the timelines putting the history of healthcare policy in chronological context and the topic pages explaining complex policy issues, this collection includes all healthcare related public laws and Congressional hearings, legislative and executive branch reports, and carefully curated statistical data series." Go to resource page
TRIP 
The TRIP Database was created in 1997 in an attempt to bring together all the 'evidence-based' healthcare resources available on the internet. Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: U

UNdata 
UNSTATS provides data on a wide range of social and economic data series from 30 specialized international intergovernmental agencies including POPIN, World Bank, IMF, UNESCO, UNICEF, and WHO. Data can be displayed in HTML or downloaded in Excel or CSV format. Go to resource page
UpToDate 
UpToDate is a clinical reference tool for use at the point-of-care. For remote access, YOU MUST REGISTER A PERSONAL ACCOUNT ON- NETWORK (i.e. wired computer on campus, VPN, remote desktop, secure wifi). After this, you can access UptoDate remotely by logging into your personal account. Any questions or issues with access should be directed to Penn State Health Information Services: 833-577-HELP (4357). Go to resource page

Resources beginning with: W

Web of Science Primary (SCIE, SSCI & AHCI) 
Web of Science provides access to: the Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-present; the Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-present; and the Arts & Humanities Citation Index 1975-present. Web of Science indexes articles from thousands of journals and also indexes the citations used in those articles, thus allowing the user to see which papers have cited a core paper, and how many times a paper was cited in a given time period. Covers published content is almost every discipline. Go to resource page
Wellcome Images 
Wellcome Images is a searchable image database, including medical and social history and contemporary healthcare and biomedical science images. Go to resource page
Wiley Online Library Journals and eBooks 
Access to Penn State subscribed online publications (electronic journals, books and reference works) for researchers and professionals. Go to resource page